What is a BTEC in Health and Social Care?

This qualification is the same size and level as a GCSE and is aimed at those who want to find out more about Health and Social Care. About 3 million people in the UK work in the Health and Social Care Sector in jobs such as nurses, midwives, social workers and counsellors, and the demand for people to fill these vital jobs will only increase in the coming years.

Course Details

Qualification Exam Board Specification
BTEC Level 1/ Level 2 Tech Award in Health and Social Care Pearson (Edexcel)

Subject Leader

Mrs L. Mirley
Subject Leader for Health and Social Care

Course Overview

In the video below, Mrs Mirley, Subject Leader for Health and Social Care, explains the different topics you will study on the Health and Social Care course:

Course Aims

This course gives you the opportunity to study how people grow and develop throughout their lives, from infancy to old age, and the factors that may affect this, such as major life changing events like marriage or parenthood. Throughout the course you will learn how people adapt to these changes and the types of support available to help them.

You will also learn about the different Health and Social Care services, and about ‘care values’ (attitudes) and their importance in making sure that the people who use these services get the care they need. You will be able to demonstrate these care values practically and will also develop skills in interpreting data about someone’s health in order to design a plan that will allow them to improve their health and well-being.


This course will help you to develop sector specific skills, knowledge and techniques to be able to review your own performance in demonstrating care values. This will be done through various inter-related written tasks during the course, which will be internally assessed.  You will be required to complete an extensive piece of written work, using your knowledge to independently design a health improvement plan. 

All learners must study THREE compulsory units:

UNIT 1: Human Lifespan Development (4 tasks internally assessed – 30%) Externally moderated. 

UNIT 2: Health and Social Care Services and Values (5 tasks internally assessed – 30%) Externally moderated.

UNIT 3: Health and Well-being (Externally assessed Exam (40% – 2hr exam)

Upon successful completion of all components, you will be awarded a grade ranging from a level 1 Pass to a level 2 distinction.

The choices you can make after this course depend on your overall level of attainment, but you may wish to undertake further study such as A levels, BTECs at level 2 or 3 or a mixture of both. You might want to find work in the Health and Social Care sector as a trainee or apprentice, or build on the teaching of human growth and development by studying for qualifications in early years education.


Got A Question?

If you have a question about Health and Social Care you can use the form below to contact Mrs Mirley, Subject Leader for Health and Social Care.


    Updated: 18/01/2023